Support Support Downloads Knowledge Base Case Manager My Juniper Community

Knowledge Base

Search our Knowledge Base sites to find answers to your questions.

Ask All Knowledge Base Sites All Knowledge Base Sites JunosE Defect (KA)Knowledge BaseSecurity AdvisoriesTechnical BulletinsTechnotes Sign in to display secure content and recently viewed articles

SRX Getting Started - Configuration Rollback

0

0

Article ID: KB15788 KB Last Updated: 24 Feb 2020Version: 4.0
Summary:

This article describes how to review previous configurations that are available for rollback and how to roll back to a previous configuration.

For other topics, go to the SRX Getting Started main page.

Symptoms:
  • Review configurations available for rollback
  • Compare the active configuration to a previous configuration
  • Roll back to a previous configuration
Solution:

This section contains the following:

 

Overview

After you commit a configuration, it becomes the active configuration. Five previous versions of commited configurations are saved, in addition to the active configuration. You can also create one rescue configuration, which allows you to have a known working configuration that you can roll back to at any time. For information about the configurations that are automatically saved, see KB15721 - SRX Getting Started - Commit Configuration.

You can make one of the previous configurations or the rescue configuration the active configuration by using the rollback command.
 

J-Web Configuration


Reviewing Configurations Available for Rollback

To review the configurations available for rollback:
  1. Select Maintain>Config Management>History. All configurations available for rollback are listed.

Comparing the Active Configuration to a Previous Configuration

To compare the active configuration to a previous configuration:
  1. Select Maintain>Config Management>History. All configurations available for rollback are listed.
  2. To compare configurations, select the check box for two configurations, and click Compare. The differences between the configurations are listed.

Rolling Back to a Previous Configuration

To roll back to a previous configuration:
  1. Select Maintain>Config Management>History. All configurations available for rollback are listed.
  2. Click the Rollback link for the configuration for which you want to rollback.
  3. Click Commit to activate the configuration.

Creating and Rolling Back to a Rescue Configuration

A rescue configuration allows you to define a known working configuration or a configuration with a known state that you can roll back to at any time. This alleviates the necessity of having to remember the rollback number with the rollback command. You use the rescue configuration when you need to roll back to a known configuration or as a last resort if your router configuration and the backup configuration files become damaged beyond repair.

To create a rescue configuration:
  1. Select Maintain>Config Management>Rescue.
  2. Click the Set rescue configuration link.
  3. When prompted to confirm creating the rescue configuration, click OK.
To roll back to the rescue configuration, use the CLI. For more information, see CLI Configuration.

 

CLI Configuration


Reviewing Configurations Available for Rollback

To review the configurations available for rollback, use the rollback ? command:

user@host# rollback ?
Possible completions:
<[Enter]> Execute this command
0 2010-02-01 10:35:44 GMT-8 by user via cli
1 2010-01-31 23:28:46 GMT-8 by user via junoscript
2 2010-01-21 16:58:32 GMT-8 by user via junoscript
3 2010-01-22 08:54:40 GMT-8 by user via cli
4 2010-01-22 00:37:31 GMT-8 by user via junoscript
5 2010-01-22 16:27:37 GMT-8 by user via cli
rescue 2010-01-21 16:59:44 GMT-8 by user via junoscript
| Pipe through a command

In the previous example, a rescue configuration has been created and can be used for a rollback, in addition to the five previous active configurations.



Comparing the Active Configuration to a Previous Configuration

To compare the active configuration to a previous configuration, use the show config | compare rollback number. In the following example, the active configuration is compared to previous configuration number 1.

user@host# show | compare rollback 1
[edit system login]
+ user jdoe {
+    uid 2002;
+    class super-user;
+    authentication {
+        encrypted-password "$ABC123"; ## SECRET-DATA
+    }
+ }


In this example, the difference between the two configurations is that a new user account was created.


Rolling Back to a Previous Configuration

To roll back to a previous configuration, use the rollback command. In the following example, previous configuration number 2 is the configuration to be used for the rollback.

user@host# rollback 2
load complete

After you have rolled back the configuration, you must use the commit command to activate the configuration:

user@host# commit

The configuration is now the active configuration.


Creating and Rolling Back to a Rescue Configuration

A rescue configuration allows you to define a known working configuration or a configuration with a known state that you can roll back to at any time. This alleviates the necessity of having to remember the rollback number with the rollback command. You use the rescue configuration when you need to roll back to a known configuration or as a last resort if your router configuration and the backup configuration files become damaged beyond repair. 

To create a rescue configuration, use the request system configuration rescue save operational mode command:

user@host#run request system configuration rescue save

To roll back to the rescue configuration, use the rollback rescue command:

user@host# rollback rescue
load complete


After rolling back to the rescue configuration, you must commit the configuration to activate it:

user@host# commit

On SRX Branch devices, you can also press and quickly release the Reset Config button to load and commit the rescue configuration. For more information, see the hardware documentation for your device at SRX Series Services Gateways.


 

Technical Documentation

Returning to a Previously Committed Junos OS Configuration

Note:  For an automatic rollback feature after a commit, use the commit confirmed command. For more information, see Activating a Junos Configuration but Requiring Confirmation.

 

 

Comment on this article > Affected Products Browse the Knowledge Base for more articles related to these product categories. Select a category to begin.

Getting Up and Running with Junos

Getting Up and Running with Junos Security Alerts and Vulnerabilities Product Alerts and Software Release Notices Problem Report (PR) Search Tool EOL Notices and Bulletins JTAC User Guide Customer Care User Guide Pathfinder SRX High Availability Configurator SRX VPN Configurator Training Courses and Videos End User Licence Agreement Global Search