Support Support Downloads Knowledge Base Case Manager My Juniper Community

Knowledge Base

Search our Knowledge Base sites to find answers to your questions.

Ask All Knowledge Base Sites All Knowledge Base Sites JunosE Defect (KA)Knowledge BaseSecurity AdvisoriesTechnical BulletinsTechnotes Sign in to display secure content and recently viewed articles

[MX] "ALERT:Auto image Upgrade will start..." message seen on new/replaced device

0

0

Article ID: KB36552 KB Last Updated: 26 Feb 2021Version: 2.0
Summary:
 

The MX platform has included and supported the auto-image-upgrade knob since Junos OS version 16.1R1. It is one of the ZTP - Zero Touch Provisioning features. For more information about ZTP, refer to ZTP – Zero Touch Provisioning (EZ Touchless Provisioning using DHCP) and Zero Touch Provisioning.

A new or RMA replacement Routing-Engine, shipped from Juniper, could have this knob configured as part of the factory default configuration. Having this knob in the configuration may lead to some commit issues.

This article therefore recommends deleting this knob from all the REs (if the knob exists) before doing a commit if there are no requirements for the use of auto-image-upgrade.

 

Symptoms:
 

Scenario: Replaced RE0 (backup RE) with a new RMA replacement and successfully issued the command commit synchronize from RE1 (primary RE)

mx480-RE1# commit synchronize and-quit
re0:
configuration check succeeds
re1:
[edit]
  'chassis'
    warning: Chassis configuration for network services has been changed. A system reboot is mandatory.  
    Please reboot *ALL* routing engines NOW. Continuing without a reboot might result in unexpected system behavior.
commit complete              
re0:
commit complete              
Exiting configuration mode

Then, after logging into the replaced device (RE0), the following alert is seen:

mx480-RE1> request routing-engine login other-routing-engine   
 
--- JUNOS 17.4R2-S11 Kernel 64-bit  JNPR-11.0-20200415.a847e8d_buil
                                                                                               
ALERT:Auto image Upgrade will start. This can terminate config CLI session(s). Modified configuration will be lost. 
To stop Auto-image, in CLI do the following: 'edit; delete chassis auto-image-upgrade; commit'.                                                               

The above alert is a reminder that the auto image upgrade will start and your current configuration will be lost.

 

Cause:
 

This alert is caused by the auto-image-upgrade knob, which is part of the factory default configuration on a new device or an RMA replacement.

chassis {
    auto-image-upgrade;
}

 

Solution:
 

If auto-image-upgrade is not needed, delete the auto-image-upgrade configuration and configure the root-authentication password as follows:

-----------------------
# delete chassis
# set system root-authentication plain-text-password
New password:
Retype new password:
 
# commit  
-----------------------

 

Comment on this article > Affected Products Browse the Knowledge Base for more articles related to these product categories. Select a category to begin.

Getting Up and Running with Junos

Getting Up and Running with Junos Security Alerts and Vulnerabilities Product Alerts and Software Release Notices Problem Report (PR) Search Tool EOL Notices and Bulletins JTAC User Guide Customer Care User Guide Pathfinder SRX High Availability Configurator SRX VPN Configurator Training Courses and Videos End User Licence Agreement Global Search