Support Support Downloads Knowledge Base Apex Support Portal Community

Knowledge Base

Search our Knowledge Base sites to find answers to your questions.

Ask All Knowledge Base Sites All Knowledge Base Sites JunosE Defect (KA)Knowledge BaseSecurity AdvisoriesTechnical BulletinsTechnotes Sign in to display secure content and recently viewed articles

[MX/PTX] "The configuration has been changed but not committed" message is seen even though no changes were made

0

0

Article ID: KB37212 KB Last Updated: 10 Aug 2021Version: 2.0
Summary:

When users enter configuration mode, the following message is seen: 'The configuration has been changed but not committed'. However, when the 'show| compare' command is run, the output reveals that no changes were made.

Symptoms:

The following message is seen:

user@R1> configure 
Entering configuration mode
The configuration has been changed but not committed

[edit]
user@R1# show | compare 

[edit]
user@R1# 

This output seems contradictory because it says that there are changes, but the comparison shows that there are no changes. This can be due to several reasons. One sequence of events that can lead to this is when a user makes a change and then manually reverts it. For example:

user@R1> configure 
Entering configuration mode

user@R1# set interfaces lo0 unit 0 description test 

[edit]
user@R1# delete interfaces lo0 unit 0 description       

[edit]
user@R1# show | compare 

[edit]
user@R1# 

[edit]
user@R1# exit 
The configuration has been changed but not committed
Exit with uncommitted changes? [yes,no] (yes) yes 

Exiting configuration mode

user@R1> configure 
Entering configuration mode
The configuration has been changed but not committed

[edit]
user@R1# show | compare 

In this case, the software knows that a change has been made. Two changes were made in this case: addition of a description to the loopback interface and then removal of the description from the loopback interface. This is the reason that the software shows that a change has been made. In this case, these changes cancel each other out, resulting in no net change to the configuration. That is why the "show | compare" output shows no changes.

Solution:

The solution is to roll back the configuration. This action will cause the software to delete the current shared candidate configuration database and make a new one from a copy of the current committed configuration. This lets the software know that no changes have been made:

user@R1> configure 
Entering configuration mode
The configuration has been changed but not committed

[edit]
user@R1# show | compare 

[edit]
user@R1# rollback 
load complete

[edit]
user@R1# exit 
Exiting configuration mode

user@R1> configure 
Entering configuration mode

Now the CLI no longer warns that the configuration has been changed.

Modification History:

2021-08-10: Redundant show | compare output removed; other minor changes made

Comment on this article > Affected Products Browse the Knowledge Base for more articles related to these product categories. Select a category to begin.

Getting Up and Running with Junos

Getting Up and Running with Junos Security Alerts and Vulnerabilities Product Alerts and Software Release Notices Problem Report (PR) Search Tool EOL Notices and Bulletins JTAC User Guide Customer Care User Guide Pathfinder SRX High Availability Configurator SRX VPN Configurator Training Courses and Videos End User Licence Agreement Global Search